The Daily “Boston Marathon Bombing” In Syria

The issue in Syria has been put on my radar not only due to the amount of press but also the controversial topics of chemical warfare and the countless killings of innocent civilians. Growing up, I rarely heard my parents talking about politics or any “depressing” world issues, which is why I have yet to grow an interest in politics. With the situation in Syria, I really researched the situation and was fascinated with my findings even though it was depressing. When someone unlawfully dies in America it becomes a huge deal, why can’t it be the same with Syria?

While clicking through an image search of the countless victims, my heart reached out for those innocent citizens who fell in the hands of the wrong government. I had no idea the extent of violence and torture. Ever since March 2011, Syrian rebels have revolted against the Ba’ath Government. Both sides of the Civil War have been accused of severe human rights violations.

via Google Images

via Google Images

As pictured in this image, an innocent boy has fallen victim to this terrible crime, and lost his life for no valid reason. People question what and if anything should be done. My urge is for America and hopefully other allied forces to go in and act like a referee and stop the unruly killings and put an end to the use of chemical warfare. It is a complex and extremely ambitious plan but with the right moves and support it can be done.

All throughout history, chemical warfare has been known for being a “lethal agent is designed to injure or incapacitate the enemy”. Chemical Warfare is an obvious crime to humanity, making this case more sticky and emotional for people all over the globe. With every article, image and video I laid my eyes on, my opinion grew and grew. At first, I was all for America pulling a team together and fighting the fight against chemical warfare with military forces. I thought about how America was always putting others first, sticking to our word and arguing for no more innocent killings and the abolition of chemical warfare. We made an impact in Iran, why couldn’t we make an impact in Syria? But the more I talked to other people and the more I realized how real the whole situation was, I had a slight change in heart. America is not in a place where we can give our 100%. We are not only in an immense amount of debt but we also do not have any back-up from the United Nations or any other country, which makes it extremely hard to put our best foot forward. I have realized that it is extremely difficult to get the most desirable outcome. Personally, with my naïve opinion about the situation I feel like we should intervene but without military power. Involving ourselves militarily has the potential to be another “Iraq” situation, which is clearly unwanted. The Obama administration’s approach on Syria over the last year is built upon the notion that others need to play an important role in helping craft the plan. A “Made in America” military intervention would end up inflaming the region’s sectarian divisions and would remake the mistakes the Bush administration made in Iraq. As I see it, we are not only in debt, and have very little citizen support but also we do not have the backing of other countries, which is crucial.  America needs to formulate an intricate action that will at the minimum bring a stop to the killings of innocent Syrians. We cannot just sit back and watch this horrible war happen.

My heart is breaking for these people; they deserve to live a life without worry of their government or lives. It is truly disheartening reading stories and seeing news headlines that a corrupt government is killing their own citizens with chemical weapons. There has been contemplation of if action should be taken and if so, how? With all I have seen and heard on the internet, television and from my peers I believe action should be taken in a peaceful way, acting as a mediator between the government, rebels and civilians.

via Google Images

via Google Images

This picture really hit me hard because in America, the Boston Marathon Bombing injured 280 people and killed 5 and it was all over the news and people immediately went into action helping those families and the victims. People were devastated at the loss of those lives. Why is it not the same in Syria where that happens daily with no punishments? America and other countries need to fight for what is honorable and find the means to do so, even if it means putting our own issue in the backseat.

Leave a Reply

